Showing posts with label Daily Life. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Daily Life. Show all posts

Friday, March 21, 2008

Chilling out with the lab people..

Yesterday was really a great day! Went out with the lab people.. Nico, Stefano, Laura, Sabine, Dom and his gf.. it was really enjoyable.. didn't really go out with the lab ppl before.. though we usually talk and joke around in the lab.. but the experience was really different and it was great too.. We went to Ayam Goreng 99 at Kingsford and ordered a lot of food.. their food was delicious.. especially their CHILLI!! SO HOT and POWERFUL!! hehe.. Dom and her bf really loves them .. but the rest try not to touch them.. oops.. i forgot Nico.. i am sure he loves those chilli too...

We really ordered quite alot of stuffs:

1. Ayam Goreng
2. Ayam Goreng (Javanese style)
3. Mushroom wrapped in banana leaves
4. Tofu wrapped in banana leaves
5. Beef Rendang (This was SOSOSO GOOOOOOOOOOD!!!)
6. Coconut rice
7. Some Durian drink (I was so scared of it..everyone tried except me.. am i an Asian?? hehe)
8. Tempe: Fermented beans
9. Sweet and Sour soup
10. Kang Kung...

WOW!! It is like a 10 course dinner!! So scrumptious.. don't know if i had used the correct to describe.. i am too lazy to check at the dictionary too.. hehe..

I had to get to lab tomorrow at 7am!! So EARLY!! And today.. i had worked from 10 plus am to 9 plus pm.. so long hours.. i think i should go and sleep soon.. Good night everyone!

I really love the lab... Everyone is so nice and friendly.. Really appreciate the help that they had given me!

Monday, March 17, 2008

A Hectic Day~

Today is really very hectic for me.. have been staying lab till late nights these few days.. so tired.. but the worse thing is..i am feeling really HUNGRRY now!! GRRR~~~

Wanted to join the rest for dinner tonight but didn't get a chance to... was caught in my SDS-PAGE.. juz hope that all the sacrifices were worth it.. Couldn't really know until mass spec is run.. though somehow, i do not dare to pin high hopes on it..

The day started with staining my gel that i had fixed overnight.. however, the gel looks really very very weird after i stain it.. i hardly feel lost when it comes to experiment (i think-sometime i do but maybe not as bad as today).. but today.. i am completely lost.. was staring at the gel till i didn't even have the mood to eat.. the cultures that i spent a month growing was also ignored.. wanted to do TFF for that 1L culture.. however, the gel came as a shock for me.. so i just decided.. i will forgo the TFF experiment and concentrate on my gel.. since i have a booking on wed and till now, i don't have any solid result to write in my thesis.. i guess it is more important to run my gels than doing other stuffs.. 30 more mins to go before my gel will finish running.. i hardly write blog when I am in Sg; however, i seem to be writing so much when i am in SYDNEY.. i guess i am really too bored.. nothing better to do.. hehe..

Pray that lord will grant me wisdom and luck.. 1.5 more month left! i really don't have any more time to spare...

Sunday, March 16, 2008

10,000BC

Watch the 10,000 BC last tuesday with Ruiping, Kuan, Weisheng and Kelvin at Greater Union! First time in the cinema since i came here for my undergraduate studies.. very 夸张ar.. haha.. As we watched it on a tuesday night, it is only $10.. as compared to the prices of other days.. it is consider cheaper already.. even in SG.. now the cheaper rate is also about $7-$7.50.. not the Ulu cinema of course..

Oh ya.. back to the show.. Generally.. the show was ok.. i will give it around 3.5/5 stars.. It can be seen that the investment for this show is somehow huge...with all the animation and also the settings.. Actually, i went in to see the show before I even know what the show was about.. Coz Kuan was saying that the show looks nice.. so we decided to go.. but the most impressive thing about the whole movie trip was the cinema it self.. NOT the show.. LOL..
The cinema seat was really comfortable.. it was really big and comfortable.. very wide and spacious.. The cinema screen was also HUGE.. and it is concave.. really interesting.. but because we went to the cinema late.. we need to seat like 5 rows from the front.. so I am REALLY NEAR the screen.. my neck hurts after the show.. coz i need to turn and turn and hold my head up.. hehe..
After the show, i actually wanted to go for some desserts.. but didn't dare to say.. Coz everyone looks kind of tired and not interested in any after event, so i guess it is better to go home.. I remember it was already 11.15pm.. and we need to all go to school or work tomorrow..
Hmm..this post is kind of long.. maybe i should stop here =)
Wanted to talk about the scrumptous but cheap dinner at the Taiwanese restuarant.. maybe another time then...
P.S. Going to buy air tickets for my parents and sis and mama to come.. so excited!!! Finally the trip is confirmed! The $$ i had saved is worth it! Hope the trip is going to be GREAT! I am sure it will!!

Another day in lab~ What do you want in life?

Hmm.. another long day in lab again.. though i will only be in school for 2-3hrs because i only need to run a gel.. but in the end.. it took me about 6 hours.. spend a few hours trying to concentrate my proteins.. wonder how my protein gel will look like tomorrow... hopefully the bands will be intense enough for me to do mass spec.. and also.. that the 3 supernatants have about the same intensity. in that case, i will need to worry much anymore..

Only about 1.5 months before the end of honours.. suprisingly, i am not as panicked and worried as i thought i will be.. still kind of slow in doing things.. though sometime i feel the heat that I am only left with 1.5months but most of the time, i put it behind me.. think i really mean what i say - there are more important things in life than just a honours..

I understand that pursuing for good grades in studies are very important, but then, at the end of the day, what do you really get? Are you really happy? Does getting a A or a B really change your life drastically? Seriously.. i don't think that grades or even a doctorate or so are that important anymore.. It may make my life smoother.. but not necessary better..it also depends what i want in life.. To me, people around me are more important.. so i guess that should be my main focus.. of course, do my best in my work too =) Having said this, it doesn't mean that i can forget about all my work because that it is not the main focus! It is just that i had learn to let go even more...

Weisheng says that i am very different after the trip back from Singapore.. I wonder if i really changed that much.. He said that i am a happier person.. and maybe by letting more things go.. i am happier? seriously, i do not even know the truth.. i do not even understand myself now..

Saturday, March 15, 2008

Gathering at Rick's place!!

Today was really hectic!! came to lab in the morning.. work and work..till ard 4pm and i was not done yet.. suppose to meet Charmaine at 4.15pm but i was still doing filtration.. didnt understand why it takes so long this time.. coz the previous time was pretty quick.. therefore, in the end, only managed to leave school ard 5pm.. haha... (we are suppose to reach at 5pm) =P

When we reach there, i was SOO HUNGRY!!! but now.. i am so full..can imagine what are the good food there??? hehe.. .tell you about it (so sad that i didnt bring a camera)... There were:

1. Tom yum beehoon (Charmaine)
2. Brownies and cheese (Sabine)
3. German beers (Olli)
4. Wines (Tim)
5. Pies (Don't know from who?)
6. Indonesian ... (cannot rem what it is called: from nico)
7. Gado-gado (Lily)
8. Prawn Cassava? (Flavia)
9. 2 Parlovas (Dom and Kristen)
10. Fried rice (unknown)
11. Tandorri Chicken (Sohail)

WAH... hope i didnt miss out anything!! hehe... there were really GREAT food.. i bet everyone brought their best dishes..hehe!! really enjoyed the food.. though i was full.. i didnt stop eating.. juz eat and eat.. till i cant take it.. then it was time to come back to lab and suffer again..

Now i am still in lab..and it is almost 1am... it is really horrible to do all these.. all these late nights in school.. however, if it is going to give me results, i really don't mind... but most of the time, my results are.... oh god... pls help me!! If not, i really don't know how i can write my thesis...

Another 2 more hours in lab at least.. hope that it will end quickly.. think i shant be lazy tonight.. i should just call the security to pick me up! will call them 10mins earlier as there's often a waiting time of 15mins..

Promise that i will get some photos up soon.. havent been taking pictures for my blog!! Maybe put up my gels if it runs well.. but dunno if i can..hehe...

Sunday, March 2, 2008

Do i really look like a Malaysian??

I was travelling with Weisheng on my way back to Sydney this time round.. and i would really say that he is 够朋友 to take the same flight as me.. somemore he got the choice to take a better flight..

Then our flight is suppose to transit at Brisbane and because of all the events that happen in SG, i didn't have the time to but gifts for Lily and Rick. Hence, i decided to get wine for them.. At the DFS, i told the cashier that i took a flight from SINGAPORE and i am making a transit now to sydney.. i even pass him my PASSPORT!! Then when i look at my receipt, it states that my nationality is MALAYSIA!!

OH MY GOODNESS!! Do i really look a malaysian so much.. i even tell him that i took a flight from Singapore!! and i wanted to pass him my passport!! I can't imagine manx.. what happen if i take the flight with the goods and then the aircrew checked and say it don't belong to me!

DO I REALLY LOOK SO MUCH LIKE A MALAYSIAN??

To be truthful, sometimes i really agree.. haha..

Saturday, February 16, 2008

Back to Australia... =(

My dear blog.. it has been more than a month since i visit you.. I was really busy in SG.. Don't even have time to check email..so definitely no time for blog at all.. dunno y.. whether in SG or aus..there are 24hrs a day.. but when i am in aus.. the 24hrs like super long.. but when i am in SG.. there is always not much time at all... 24 hrs become like 12hours only.. or maybe even less..

Hai.. only left with 3.5 months before the final submission of my thesis and after that.. i will be getting ready to go back to SG.. i will definitely make myself super busy so that time can fly ... with the 3.5months left over here, i will also try to maximise all my time..whether is for work or for frenz.. i hope to cherish everyone and everything that i have in life.. esp. my parents, sister, mama and frenz...

i already start to miss all of them...

Thursday, December 20, 2007

Dinner @ Ben's Thai!!

Just came home from dinner at Ben's Thai!! I think Ben's Thai is one of the more value for $$ shop along Kingsford.. The food are nice and the price is reasonable! As i had spent too much $$ recently, i decided to just bring Constance there to meet up with the rest.. But weisheng was very nice to offer me his share and i also get to eat the leftover from Constance! They are really fabulous.. if not, i think i will be drooling when i watch them eat!! Haha..

Thank you so much! My frenz!!

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

8hrs of KTV @ Big Echo~

Woah! We went for 8 hrs of KTV yesterday!! It was so much fun!! i really love to sing but it is kinda pressurizing as all of them are such great singer!! Feel so 'ma lu' (singlish term for embarrased) !! Haha.. maybe i shld go for secret training first =) Haha.. i think even if there's secret training.. it wouldn't help.. i am beyond hope already..

Going to KTV was quite a last minute decision.. It was like i was chatting with stffy and then suddenly talk about going to K.. then we say - if Constance (my temp. housemate who just touchdown on the 18th Dec) wanna go to K, then we shall go together.. It will be a very nice way to entertain our guest too =)

Don't be misleaded by my photo..i am neither unhappy nor in pain.. juz that i am camera shy.. whenever i am in front of an camera, i can't be natural.. hai.. dunno y i have so much problems.. or maybe..it is because i have two beauties beside me.. so i am feeling stressed??? They are so talented!! Can play musical instruments and can see really well!!!
Why I can't do this, can't do that..cannot sing, cannot take photo properly..so many problems!! Maybe I am just an extra in this world~

BABS X'mas Party!!

BABS X'mas Party was held last friday (14th Dec) and i just realised that i did not write that event on my blog! Seriously, I thought I had uploaded the photos I have taken onto my blog already! When i was browsing through my own blog a moment ago, then i realised that i missed out on that!! Haha~ My memory on the party is still fresh though.. so i guess i can still update it now! Hahahahaha..

First of all, it was stated that the event was held at the Randwick bowling club.. so i thought it was at the one at Belmore road... When i reach there with student no. 1 (Kevin), we realised that no one was there!! Then we decided to call the others to check if there are bowling club around and then we discovered that it is about 15 mins walk away.. so no choice... we have to walk there.. i still remember that i was very hungry at that moment.. so it was really torturous for me to walk for another 15mins.. Finally, we reached the bowling club, and to my surprise, their bowling are so different!! I think my general knowledge is really too low... haha...



The picture directly above shows the ground where they play their bowling.. it is different from what i played in Singapore as there are no fixed lanes.. What they do - if i am not wrong - is that they will throw a white ball out onto the end of the field, and then throw a 'bowling ball' (about 1/3 of the bowling ball we know) to attempt hitting the white ball.. Not too sure what are the rules because we didn't played that day.. haha...



As the party started a little late, i decided to go out of the club to wander a little.. i saw a fire station so i decided to take a photo of it.. there is also quite a nice bunch of flowers around.. so i just take it too..



The most exciting part of the X'mas party was on the FOOD!! I am CAT!! so food is my priority!! I LOVE FOOD!!! haha.. the meal was quite splendid.. there was lobsters and prawns.. turkey breast, hams, garden salad, potato salad etc etc.. can't remember so much now.. juz remember that the food was fabulous... It is really worth the $15 that we paid for the party!! Yum yum... are you drooling now??? hehe...



The party ended off with some Trivia quizzes.. seriously, i can't answer any of those questions!! it is SO difficult.. i am really lousy with my general knowledge..haha.. Weisheng and some of the other teammates were really good.. without them, i think i would have scored ZERO!! haha.. as i i think i should play my part, i get alex to help me!! The winner of the "Guess the year" section will win a ferrero rocher.. seriously, we thought we would have won with Alex help.. but in the end, we still got 2 questions wrong.. What's wrong with google?? Haha.. I think what matters most was the fun, so it is alright that we didn't win the Ferrero Rocher - i really want to eat though!! haha..

It was really a tiring day.. and after i reached home, i received Kevin and Kuan sms and call that there is meteor showers.. and so we went to watch it.. if you want to know the details, you can see my post on sunrise and meteor showers..it was really a very nice experience.. do have a look!

Monday, December 17, 2007

Fun Day @ Coogee!!

I was so tired these few days.. Now then i found the time to update my blog.. Went to Coogee beach on Saturday afternoon!! The weather was generally great..though it drizzled a little during evening (around around 15mins??)

This outing was really fun!! Know a lot of interesting few frenz.. they are really nice , frenzly and socialable!! I love spending times with them.. but i think the impression that i left on time would be - i am so NOISY, as i talk non-stop!! haha~

Have a few bruises on both my hands now.. all because of the volleyball game.. the guys hit the ball so hard!! Or maybe coz i nv really play volleyball before, so not used to it yet.. Playing freesbie (dunno how to spell) together with volleyball was really confusing..and a lot of the times, you get both of them coming to u and u dun know what to do.. there was once the volleyball ran onto the road and i was suppose to take it back.. i shouted when the ball rolls onto the road.. and they thought i was hit by a car! Thank goodness it didn't happen!

Food was also great - the salad was exceptionally nice!! It was with thousand island sauce, tuna, prawn, avocardo, cheery tomatoes and lettuce =) I must try making it one day! So delicious! The taste is simply heavenly!! The lamb cutlets that Khoon prepared are also very well-done..i love the taste.. no lamb smells, very tender, juicy and succulent!! I would love to have more if possible!!

The night ended with a chat at Zellini's cafe. I ordered a hot chocolate and it was really TOO SWEET!! Please do not order hot chocolate if u r there.. it is simply WORSE!! I guess going Lindt is so so so much better.. I would really fail their hot chocolate if possible.. i can'teven finish it!! And you know what?? Look at the picture below!! One bowl of rice is $5!! Isn't it similar to Daylight robbery?? I was thinking.. What is their rice made of?? Is it the golden rice?? I am not been mean.. i mean the golden rice that is orangy and high in carotene.. there is really such things!! Haha.. you know what i mean!!

Seriously, i think i need to thank Khoon for organising the BBQ, all the rest for the company and Nelson for the chocolate drink!! I really look forward to meeting them again! They are GREAT company!! Esp there are Jay Chou and Lee Hom fans toos =) Hope we really become 3 sisters too!! haha =P


Thursday, December 13, 2007

Power Shutdown in Biological Sciences Building!

Wah!! There was a power shutdown in my school building today!! And i gotta restart all my experiment!! Can you imagine that?? So irritating!!! I am going to give up on my work tomorrow.. going to slack and not to anything other than making media etc... no cells and everything.. can't do anything even if i want!! so i guess i can only wait till next week before i can perform my protein concentration!

Hai.. I am so un-motivated in doing lab work recently.. wonder what have i eaten wrongly?? Perhaps i need some push from ppl before i can get my ball rolling again.. During the power shut-down today, i went to Kuan's place to have lunch! coz he got a Zinger for me!! Hooray!! As the power was shut for 2 hours ++, we decided to watch a movie before going back to the lab.. We watched the 'Amazing Grace' if i am not wrong... hehe.. the movie was quite funny and i would say it is far better than the Mr Beans Holiday!! LOL.. I guess maybe some ppl may disagree with me but i really have to say that Mr Beans was really boring.. At least for Amazing Grace, i did laugh in the show.. haha.. hmm.. i would give it a 3.5/5 stars for my own taste!

Tuesday, December 11, 2007

Yeah!! Won 200 tokens from scratchie!!

Yeah!! Finally i won a BIG amount of tokens from the facebook Scratch n Win!! I have always been very unlucky.. finally i got the chance to win 200 tokens!!

Hehehehehe.. All thanks to the black magic tickets!! Next time i must buy it more often.. hehe.. or perhaps win liao shldnt buy already.. try to scratch other stuffs.. Think scratchie is the only thing that makes me so addicted to play facebook.. it is really fun and enjoying!! haha... anyone reading this post shld go and try too =)



Feeling so unwell this morning .. can't even crawl out of my own bed.. No strength at all.. Today in lab also very blur lor.. Adrian just on the autoclave and i thought it was done.. i even took out everything from the autoclave.. and they were NOT autoclaved.. how sotong can i get leh.. haha.. luckily i offered help to adrian in the corridor and we talk about autoclave.. if not i would have taken out his things and left it on the bench for a long long time.. haha.. thank gdness i saw him at the corridor!!

Recently so addicted to playing games.. hai.. now feel so bored at home now.. i wan to play game!!

Sunday, December 9, 2007

Having a cold today~

Hai..My eyes are teary and my nose are running.. feeling a little sick today.. guess i may have caught a cold.. the weather here is really weird.. it is summer now but it is constantly raining for the past few days.. I wonder what summer really is right now.. haha.. Feeling really lazy and lethargic now.. juz feel like resting and surfing the net.. things that do not require much movements.. No one is at home now too.. everyone is out.. so i am all alone at home.. can blast the music all i want too.. woke up at 2pm today and it is only 4pm now.. already feel so sleepy.. perhaps i didnt sleep well yest night i guess.. keep on waking up in the middle of the night coz my eyes was feeling very irritated.. juz hope that the cold will get away from me soon.. then i muz get back to lab and start doing my stuffs .. i am already way behind work.. I had stopped experiments for almost 3 weeks.. it is time to get going...

Simple french toast for brunch!!

French toast!! French toast!! I still remember that this was one of the few things that mama cooked for me when i am in Singapore!! Really miss them!

The thought of making french toast today comes from the eggs that my juniors and Bern and Nat give.. Since there are so many eggs at home, i should make full use of them.. Hence, i have decided to make french toast with it.. Using a really simple method to do.. No cinammon, no vanilla essence and no milk.. that's coz i dun have all those stuffs at home... if not, maybe i can make a more decent french toast!! Wahahaha..

Nonetheless, making the french toast makes me think of mama.. the one that he made for me is really good.. dunno is it coz it tastes really good or it was made by him... i guess it is both.. A bit burnt on some of the toast coz i was busy washing stuffs den i forgot about my toast in the oven.. I shld had used oil to fry the toast but decided to use the oven - for two reasons - healthier and also nv try b4 mah.. haha...

Though taste and appearance wise is not that fantastic nor appealing.. i am still looking forward to make it another time!! I really like the egg and bread taste in combination.. the pepperiness, sweetness and saltiness too... Hmm.. maybe i shld ask mama to make for me again when i am back..

Thinking of making egg-coated fried rice now.. that is another of my mama specialty.. really uniue and delicious.. since i got so much eggs now.. maybe i can consider frying..haha.. juz hope that mama is here la..then he can cook for me.. =)

Saturday, December 8, 2007

Miss HOME!!

Hmm.. 34 more days before i can return to Singapore!! Y is that kinda long.. Sitting in front of the computer today.. got so emotional and started crying ... juz hope that i am in Singapore now.. so bored here.. nothing much to do.. nothing much to eat.. nothing much to say..

Thanks goodness mama and jolin chatted with me for hours today.. if not, i think i will be really sianz.. with them, at least i wun feel so miserable.. Chatting with jolin about jasmine today... really worried about her.. it has been so long, since i last chatted with her on the phone.. though we emailed each other, but it is a very different feeling.. maybe the best is still i go back to Singapore.. Somehow she gave me a feeling that she is not very happy so i really hope to chat with her to follow up things in her life..

Jas b'dae is coming too.. but she doesnt seem very enthusiastic abt it.. wanted to plan a chalet and bbq with jolin for her.. but she rejected it.. hai... feel i am such a failure as a frenz manx.. she is my best frenz somemore... Hai..

Hmm.. today seems such a long day for me.. times is like crawling.. maybe i am somehow weird too .. when i had to do my outside interest, i complain and complain.. but right now.. nothing much to do and i am still COMPLAINING!! hahax...

Actually ar.. got a lot of lab work to plan and a lot of xmas cards to write.. but somehow i juz feel very lost.. dun wanna do anything like that.. feel like gg back to Singapore.. somehow feel that my life in Singapore is really different? a lot of activities, a lot of ppl around, a lot of things to do!!

Mama, really miss u alot wor.. thx for being such a great mama!! thx for waiting for me to go back.. i really hope that u will wait for me all the way, until i return to Sg for good... This makes me think abt PhD.. hai.. a bit sad that i may lose the opportunity of applying the PhD scholarship coz i wanna return to Singapore.. but i guess.. it is worth it.. For meh meh and mama, i think the best option is still returning to Singapore.. hanging on here may drift my relationships with wanna it to happen.. and also my best frenz etc.. i dun wanna have the chance to drift with them as well.. perhaps family and frenz are still more impt for me i guess. . Dunno la.. still got a long way to go and might not even get the scholarship..haha

34 more days to Singapore.. faster faster faster...